Wallace H. "Jay" Jordan, Jr. First Vice-Chairman

William H. Bailey Justin T. Bamberg Beth E. Bernstein Thomas C. "Case" Brittain, Jr. J. Benjamin "Ben" Connell Jason Thomas Elliott Thomas Duval "Val" Guest, Jr. Brandon E. Guffey Rosalyn Henderson-Myers Patricia Moore "Pat" Henegan Jeffrey E. "Jeff" Johnson Wallace H. "Jay" Jordan, Jr. John Richard C. King

Kate Crater Chief Counsel

Teague McQueen Executive Assistant

## MEMORANDUM

TO: The Honorable Beth E. Bernstein The Honorable Jason Thomas Elliott The Honorable Jeffrey E. "Jeff" Johnson The Honorable Wallace H. "Jay" Jordan, Jr. The Honorable John R. McCravy, III The Honorable Ivory Torrey Thigpen

FROM: Wm. Weston J. Newton Chairman, House Judiciary Committee

RE: Appointment to Ad Hoc Committee and Meeting Notice

DATE: March 17, 2023

In consultation with the Speaker's Office and pursuant to Committee Rule 2, I am appointing you to an ad hoc committee, which I will chair, to investigate whether the Comptroller General has committed acts in office rising to the level that action should be taken under Article XV of the South Carolina Constitution. This review may include but is not limited to consideration of <u>H.4068</u>. This is an investigating ad hoc committee, which will adhere and avail itself of the provisions of <u>Title 2, Chapter 2 of the South Carolina Code of Laws</u> relating to legislative oversight of executive agencies.

The first meeting will be held Tuesday, April 4, 2023, thirty minutes after adjournment of the House of Representatives in room 516 of the Blatt Building.

William Weston J. Newton Chairman

## Judiciary Committee



House of Representatives P.O. Box 11867 Telephone: (803) 734-3120 Columbia, S.C. 29211 John Richard C. King Second Vice-Chairman

Matthew W. "Matt" Leber John R. McCravy, III Cody T. Mitchell Travis A. Moore William Weston J. Newton Robert D. "Robby" Robbins Seth C. Rose Carla M. Schuessler Ivory Torrey Thigpen Elizabeth "Spencer" Wetmore William W. "Will" Wheeler, III Christopher Sloan "Chris" Wooten

Jennifer Dobson Chief Counsel

Jimmy Hinson Deputy Counsel